Temporary Derailment

Well damn…I am completely amazed how a few knots in some key places can be completely debilitating and temporarily derail your training efforts. Tight hip flexors are to blame for this domino effect…it starts in my hip area and extends down the front of my leg.  Any exertion of those muscles causes sharp pains in my quads.  Damn muscles!!!   I usually have a high tolerance for pain…I really do.  But this has taken me by surprise.  Yesterday morning, I was bending down to clean something off the floor and ended up collapsing in pain…not fun! It hurts to walk sometimes…no way in hell I can run right now! So I am benched…temporarily.

Introducing the Foam Roller…

foam-roller

I have used the foam roller before; just not often enough and definitely not correctly.  Last night, my trainer showed me various foam roller exercises that will help break apart some knots as well as stretch my hip flexors and the rest of my body.  I now understand where the phrase “hurts so good” came from…holy mother of hell that kills! My hip flexors caused some serious pain…I had to use my lamaze breathing while doing it (at least I am using it now…sure as hell didn’t use it while having my kids! Ha!). Some of the exercises felt great…others, not so much! :-/ This video gives you a great visual explanation of the various foam roller exercises my trainer showed me…

I am determined to get back to my training program so off to roll I go!  As they say…no pain, no gain.  In the meantime, I will take long walks with Oz…I think he is the only one who is happy about my setback!

Until next time…so long!

2 thoughts on “Temporary Derailment

Leave a Reply

