My journey to my first marathon….

Long story short (if that is even possible)…In the last 3 years, my life was flipped upside down!  I went from a stay-at-home mom to a divorced mom who works full-time! Can you say STRESS?  I loved yoga but it just wasn’t cutting it!  With all my stress, and lets face it, I was a tad bit angry, I needed to do something else.  I wasn’t finding zen…and I sure as hell wasn’t harnessing my chi just doing yoga.  So I began running.  I was never really a runner….always had a hard time breathing.  I discovered the reason why…asthma!  Who knew!  Once I figured that out, running was a lot easier.

So I ran…and what do you know, I was finally sleeping.  It’s amazing how much better you feel once you have slept!  I know myself…even though it made me feel better, if I don’t have a goal, I tend to give up on things.  So, I signed myself up for a 10k. I started to train for that in July.  I have never run more than a 5k so I didn’t know if I could even do it. I have an amazing trainer!!! Not only did he think I could run the 10k, he believed I could run a half!  I am so grateful he believed in me especially since I didn’t believe in myself!  I trusted his judgement so I said yes.  He created a schedule that was flexible to meet my needs.  He’s awesome!

October 19, 2013: Indianapolis, Indiana.  42º and raining!  Are you freakin’ kidding me?  We contemplated saying fuck it…but we both trained too hard to turn back now!  A few miles into the race and my IT Band decided to introduce itself to me…holy crap that hurts!  I kept going and finished the race.  Crap ass time, but I finished!  I hobbled back to the car, and I could barely walk for days afterwards…the pain was unbearable but I had a huge ass smile on my face.  Why?  I accomplished a huge and what I thought, an unattainable goal!  I ran a half-marathon!  Wow!

photo

Fast forward to today…

I think I may have lost my mind…I signed myself up for the Indianapolis Marathon.  October 18th!  Dear God, what the hell have I done?  Lou, my personal trainer, figured out my training schedule…added some strength training and cross-training…bam.  A solid training schedule.  Wish me luck…I may need it!  🙂

My grandpa never liked saying goodbye.  He felt that was too final…So he always said so long.

Until next time…so long!

Di

PS-My personal trainer, Lou, is a fantastic trainer/running coach!  If it wasn’t for him, I would have never attempted a half, let alone finish one!  He is also a boxing coach!  How cool is that?  His workouts are killer…seriously!

 

 

4 thoughts on “My journey to my first marathon….

Leave a Reply

